Sunday snaps: Munich’s toy museum

My photography, Outside London

While uploading the photographs from my latest weekend away, I’ve realised that I have thousands of photographs on various memory cards that have never seen the light of day – they’re frankly too pretentious for Facebook, and I need to admit to myself that I’m never going to get around to getting any of them printed. So as a new feature, I’m going to share some of them here every Sunday. Expect everything from the plastic horses of Brighton Pier to the tower blocks of sunny Croydon, with a few European cities thrown in for good measure.

Here’s the first installment – a few choice snaps from Munich’s Spielzeugmuseum, or toy museum, which I visited last week. It’s based in the top four floors of a clock tower in the city’s main square, Marienplatz, and houses everything from the original Steiff teddy bears from the early 1900s, to 1940s toy soldiers, to kitsch 1980s robots (which I think you’ll see I was quite taken with). Enjoy!

toys6

toys1

toys2

toys3

toys4

toys5

toys7

toys8

Leave a Reply

